Search in Script editor

Something is missing? Have an idea? Ask for new stuff here.
Post Reply
brunoisa10
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 7:31 pm
Location: Westende Belgium

Search in Script editor

Post by brunoisa10 » Thu Mar 28, 2019 10:59 am

Could you implement Search in the script editor ?

it will help me a lot when updating some scripts
Bruno 8-)

brunoisa10
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 7:31 pm
Location: Westende Belgium

Re: Search in Script editor

Post by brunoisa10 » Mon Apr 01, 2019 2:33 pm

up
Bruno 8-)

User avatar
TrianguloY
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 9:46 am

Re: Search in Script editor

Post by TrianguloY » Mon Apr 01, 2019 2:58 pm

I think lukas implemented that on their multitool (can't check now)

User avatar
F43nd1r
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 1:20 pm

Re: Search in Script editor

Post by F43nd1r » Mon Apr 01, 2019 3:06 pm

Screenshot_20190401-170251.png
Screenshot_20190401-170251.png (56.12 KiB) Viewed 765 times
Jup.

brunoisa10
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 7:31 pm
Location: Westende Belgium

Re: Search in Script editor

Post by brunoisa10 » Mon Apr 01, 2019 5:22 pm

Down when too many scripts

Image
Bruno 8-)

brunoisa10
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 7:31 pm
Location: Westende Belgium

Re: Search in Script editor

Post by brunoisa10 » Mon Apr 01, 2019 8:28 pm

So I want inside a script and not on all
And being able to update the script
Bruno 8-)

User avatar
TrianguloY
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 9:46 am

Re: Search in Script editor

Post by TrianguloY » Mon Apr 01, 2019 10:15 pm

brunoisa10 wrote:
Mon Apr 01, 2019 8:28 pm
So I want inside a script and not on all
And being able to update the script
Then just open the left menu and "Edit..." the script to open it in any text editor with a search/replace feature.

brunoisa10
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 7:31 pm
Location: Westende Belgium

Re: Search in Script editor

Post by brunoisa10 » Tue Apr 02, 2019 4:59 am

TrianguloY wrote:
Mon Apr 01, 2019 10:15 pm

Then just open the left menu and "Edit..." the script to open it in any text editor with a search/replace feature.
Ok thanks
Bruno 8-)

brunoisa10
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 7:31 pm
Location: Westende Belgium

Re: Search in Script editor

Post by brunoisa10 » Tue Apr 02, 2019 1:50 pm

using Office Suite now
but it's so small by default (using Web Display is fine but always switching back to non Web Display when restarting)

do you have any editor with could be better ?
Bruno 8-)

User avatar
Pierrot
Site Admin
Posts: 181
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 12:18 pm
Location: French Alps

Re: Search in Script editor

Post by Pierrot » Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:00 am

I think I will have to resume the TODO list and clean the bug/feature tracker (the existing one is out of date). This kind of feature would be nice but I don't have the time to do it now.

User avatar
Pierrot
Site Admin
Posts: 181
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 12:18 pm
Location: French Alps

Re: Search in Script editor

Post by Pierrot » Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:12 am

I have added this to flyspray to keep track of it, but I'll have to clean the tracker first : https://www.lightninglauncher.com/flysp ... &sort=desc

brunoisa10
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 7:31 pm
Location: Westende Belgium

Re: Search in Script editor

Post by brunoisa10 » Thu Apr 04, 2019 12:48 pm

Pierrot wrote:
Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:12 am
I have added this to flyspray to keep track of it, but I'll have to clean the tracker first : https://www.lightninglauncher.com/flysp ... &sort=desc

Thanks a lot :)
Bruno 8-)

User avatar
F43nd1r
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 1:20 pm

Re: Search in Script editor

Post by F43nd1r » Sun Apr 28, 2019 10:49 pm

Looking at this issue I finally understood why @Pierrot considers to abandon lightning.
My thinking was: just add a button which shows an action bar with the search bar in it.
Well - the button is easy, the actionbar is not. LL mostly doesn't allow action bars, and where they are (app drawer), it is a completely custom component.
We'd either have to copy or refactor a large chunk of code (read: do a lot of work) for something which would take minutes to implement on recent android versions.

I might still implement this at some point - just not right now and not as fast as I had hoped.

User avatar
TrianguloY
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2019 9:46 am

Re: Search in Script editor

Post by TrianguloY » Mon Apr 29, 2019 7:11 am

Searching inside the editor (opened script only) is already implemented using a normal alert dialog instead of an action bar.

About bars: I agree they are hard to include, but probably for the compatibility with previous android versions which didn't include them. If you want to use bars in an android app you have basically three options: use the native android component excluding devices until android 3.0; use the android standard library that can offer a custom action bar; or implement your own. Pierre chose the latter, and I guess he did it for customization purposes (maybe not).
Didn't he say that the bar is or can be converted into a customizable component?

User avatar
Pierrot
Site Admin
Posts: 181
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2019 12:18 pm
Location: French Alps

Re: Search in Script editor

Post by Pierrot » Mon Apr 29, 2019 9:09 am

LL has been started long before the action bar has been added to Android. Most screens have been designed without it and once they were working, and as it was not really needed to rework the UI I left them as is.

The app drawer is an exception. The custom action bar has been implemented to replicate this feature on older devices. Now compatibility for these devices has gone, but since this bar is here and working I didn't replaced it with the builtin action bar neither.

I always avoided the compat library because of its weight, although some time to time I picked some code from it.

Post Reply